Ducks’ Kreider Awarded Goal After Wings’ Gibson Dislodges Net

Anaheim Ducks winger Chris Kreider was awarded a goal after Detroit Red Wings goaltender John Gibson knocked the net off its moorings.
Ducks winger Cutter Gauthier fired a shot that was stopped by Wings goaltender John Gibson. The rebound went into the slot, right to Anaheim’s Chris Kreider. As Gibson moved to get back into position, he shoved the goalpost, knocking the net off its moorings.
Kreider sent a wrister fluttering over the goal line and into the dislodged net.
Referees Corey Syvret and Wes McCauley huddled to discuss the play on the ice, ultimately calling it a goal.
Rule 63.7:
In the event that the goal post is displaced, either deliberately or accidentally, by a defending player, prior to the puck crossing the goal line between the normal position of the goalposts, the Referee may award a goal.
In order to award a goal in this situation, the goal post must have been displaced by the actions of a defending player, the attacking player must have an imminent scoring opportunity prior to the goal post being displaced, and it must be determined that the puck would have entered the net between the normal position of the goal posts.
The goal frame is considered to be displaced if either or both goal pegs are no longer in their respective holes in the ice, or the net has come completely off one or both pegs, prior to or as the puck enters the goal.
The NHL’s Situation Room reviewed the play, confirming the call on the ice and awarding a goal to Kreider.
The Anaheim Ducks defeated the Detroit Red Wings by a score of 5-2. Refs for the game were Wes McCauley (#4) and Corey Syvret (#24); linespersons were Caleb Apperson (#77) and David Brisebois (#96).




